Does this ever happen to you? You work hard to flesh out new ideas, and they start rolling. You think you’re being dynamic. You think you’ve got it together. You think you’re soaring at the pinnacle of the e-learning teacher world. You attend a couple of conferences and people are impressed with your new ideas and you think, man, I’m SO good at this.

Then, you learn new ideas from others, and they sound GREAT, but there’s this gnawing feeling in the back of your mind that you might not sleep if you try and implement this. Or…your report cards won’t be in on time if you implement this. Or, to implement this, you’d have to sacrifice something else that is really important to your students.

I wonder if this is part and parcel of the e-learning world. Since technology is growing and changing at an exponential rate, the possibilities for us to grow and expand are the same. How do we keep up? How do we stay current? How do we know when to shelve something and when to say, “I cannot continue without this fabulous idea, and I MUST use it.”

Right now I teach 6 week terms, and the way I’m runningĀ things is to try one new idea each term, and build off the previous idea. This term, students are making e-collages and posting ideas using Lino. They really like it. I think it’s a tool they’ll be able to use in their next courses.

This is what I’d like to know: How do you decide what to use in your courses, and when do you know that it’s time to implement a new idea? And also, how do you keep yourself from being overwhelmed with new stuff?innovative-business-ideas

 

